Titles, School Records Lead to Memorable 2018 Indoor Campaign

YSU coaching staff
YSU won the men's and women's Horizon League Indoor titles.

The Youngstown State men's and women's track and field teams both claimed Horizon League Championships for the second consecutive year while Chad Zallow gave the program national notoriety by earning first-team All-America honors at the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships for the second straight March.

The women set new school standards in the 60m hurdles, high jump, shot put, 60m dash and 200m dash. All three running marks occurred at the Horizon League Championships at the WATTS in February.

It was the third straight Horizon League Indoor Track and Field Championship for the men. For the women, it was their fourth title in five years and seventh Horizon League crown overall. 

Season Highlights and Record Breakers

  • Zallow finished fifth at the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships in the 60m hurdles.
  • Five school records were broken during the year by the women's program.
  • Amber Eles lowered her mark in the hurdles from 8.44 seconds to 8.40 seconds. Jaynee Corbett increased her school record from 15.44m to 16.00m in the shot put. In the 60m dash, Jaliyah Elliott broke Nina Grambling's record (7.46) with a time of 7.36 seconds. In the 200m dash, Keishawnna Burts broke Grambling's record (24.43) with a time of 24.10 seconds. In the high jump, Abby Jones (1.74m) eclipsed the mark held by Katrina Rettburg (1.73m in 2011).

Men's Horizon League Championship Notes

  • The Penguins accumlated a school-record 201 points to win by 38.5 points. 
  • The 201 points scored were the most since Notre Dame in 1986.
  • YSU has won six of the last seven 60m dash titles. A Zallow - Chad from 2016-18 and Carl in 2015 - has won the past four years.
  • Chad Zallow became the first three-time winner of the 200m dash since Milwaukee's Tyler Bucholz in 2008-10.
  • Zallow is the first HL runner to win three straight 60m hurdles titles since UWM's Durrell Busby (2010-12).
  • For the second straight year, Zallow won the 60m, 60m hurdles and 200m dash. He is one of just two athletes in Horizon League history to win all three - Only UIC's Marcus Lesley in 2005 won all three events at the same meet since 1980. 
  • Collin Harden became the first YSU runner to win the 400m dash. Harden's time of 47.62 seconds was just 0.02 seconds off the school record.
  • Freshman Sean Peterson became just the second YSU runner to win the 800m dash. He was the first Penguin to win the race since Kurt Michaelis in 2002.
  • YSU scored 27 points in the 60m dash, 23 in the pole vault, 21 in the 200m dash, 19 in the 60m hurdles, 18 in the 800m run and 15 in the 400m dash.
  • YSU won the five shortest races - 60m dash, 60m hurdles, 200m dash, 400m and 800m. It's the first time since 1995 the same school won all five races.
  • Ryan Sullivan was second in the 5,000m and third in the 3,000m to lead the distance runners.
  • Daiquain Watson became just the second YSU winner in the long jump in school history. William Royal in 2014 is the only other winner.
  • Dylan Latone became just the second YSU winner in the pole vault in school history. Derek Riker in 2004 is the only other winner.
  • Head Coach Brian Gorby received his fifth Indoor Coach-of-the-Year honor.

Women's Horizon League Championship Notes

  • The Penguins accumulated a school-record 203.83 points to win by 82.83 points.
  • The margin-of-victory is the most at a league meet since Notre Dame won by 120 points in 1995.
  • The Guins had four repeat winners in Jaynee Corbett (shot put, weight throw), Amber Eles (60m hurdles) and Abby Jones (high jump).
  • YSU has won the last four 60m dashes with three different runners. Jaliyah Elliott in 2018, Taylor Thompkins in 2017 and Nina Grambling in 2016 and 2015.
  • The Guins have won eight straight Horizon League 200m dashes. Three different Penguins have won the last three races. Keishawnna Burts broke the school and Horizon League with a time of 24.10 seconds in the finals.
  • Eles broke the school mark in each of her 60m hurdles races. She had a finals time of 8.40 seconds after running an 8.41 in the prelims. It was the third straight year YSU won the event.
  • The Penguins won their fourth Horizon League 4x400m relay and have won two of the last three.
  • Jones' second straight win in the high jump gives YSU 10 of the last 11 winners in the event. She is the fourth YSU jumper to win the event twice. 
  • Corbett won her third straight shot put title and joins Bethany Anderson and Jennifer Neider as Penguins to win the event three times. YSU has won the shot put eight consecutive times and 13 of the last 14 years. 
  • Corbett won her third straight weight throw title as well. She joins Anderson and Detroit's Andrea Karpala as three-time winners in the event.
  • YSU scored 30 points in the 60m dash, 28 in the 200m dash, 24 in the shot put and 22 in the pole vault.

Horizon League Accolades