Softball Team Announces 2017 Schedule

Stevie Taylor (Photo by Trevor Parks)
Stevie Taylor (Photo by Trevor Parks)

2017 Schedule

The Youngstown State softball team will play four in-season tournaments with matchups against 2012 National Champion Alabama, Coastal Carolina and East Carolina, and play a 56-game schedule in 2017, Head Coach Brian Campbell announced.

The Penguins open the season with five games at the Kickin' Chicken Classic hosted by Coastal Carolina, Feb. 10-12. Youngstown State will face Towson and Coastal Carolina twice each Sandwiched between the games between the Tigers and Chanticleers is the matchup against the Crimson Tide on Feb. 11.

After a weekend off, the Penguins play in a four-game tournament hosted by Winthrop, Feb. 25-26. Youngstown State will face East Tennessee State, Withrop on day one and Eastern Kentucky and Mount St. Mary's on the second day.

A second consecutive weekend trip to the Palmetto State features a five-game tournament hosted by USC-Upstate, March 3-5. The Penguins open the tournament against Radford and USC-Upstate on March 3. On day two, the Penguins matchup against Radford for a second time and also face Furman. Youngstown State and the Paladins close out the tournament on day three. 

Spring break week begins with a doubleheader at Presbyterian on March 7 and a single game at East Carolina on March 8. The Penguins close out the week with a five-game tournament at UNC-Wilmington, March 10-12. YSU will face Siena and Hampton on day one, UNC-Wilmington and Siena on the second day, and closes out the tournament against UNC-Wilmington on day three.

The Penguins home open is slated for a doubleheader against St. Bonaventure on March 21, and the Horizon League opener is a three-game series against Oakland, March 24-25, at the YSU Softball Complex.

Youngstown State also has home dates against UIC (April 7-8), Wright State (April 18-19), Kent State (April 25), Cleveland State (April 28-29), and Akron (May 2).

The Penguins road games include at Robert Morris (March 29), at Valparaiso (March 31-April 1), at Niagara (April 5), at Northern Kentucky (April 11-12), at Green Bay (April 21-22), at Detroit (May 5-6).

The Horizon League Championship is set for May 10-13 at the No. 1 seed.