Staff Directory

Athletics Contact Information

Mailing Address

Youngstown State University
Athletic Department
One University Plaza
Youngstown, OH 44555

Fax Numbers

Athletic Director/Business Office/Penguin Club: (330) 941-2733
Ticket Office/Marketing: (330) 941-1534
Sports Information/Compliance: (330) 941-3191
Men's and Women's Basketball: (330) 941-2969
Football/Soccer/Softball: (330) 941-3191
Volleyball/XC/Golf/Track & Field/Swimming & Diving/Baseball/Women's Bowling: (330) 941-2163
Training Room: (330) 941-1918
Watson and Tressel Training Site: (330) 941-3685

University Directory

Administration

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Ron Strollo Executive Director of Intercollegiate Athletics (330) 941-2385
Elaine Jacobs Associate Director of Athletics/SWA (330) 941-2282 eajacobs@ysu.edu
Rick Love Associate Director of Athletics (330) 941-7227 rwlove@ysu.edu
Robb Schmidt Assistant Athletic Director (330) 941-7226 rkschmidt01@ysu.edu
Chris Sumner Asst. Director - Athletic Marketing and Event Management (330) 941-7229 cmsumner@ysu.edu
Tom Morella Assistant Athletic Director (330) 941-2351 tmorella@ysu.edu
Emily Wollet Assistant Athletic Director (330) 941-7208 eewollet@ysu.edu
Rebecca Fink Assistant Athletic Director for Compliance (330) 941-2283 rjfink01@ysu.edu
Jim Morrison Associate Athletic Director for The Penguin Club (330) 941-3720 jwmorrison@ysu.edu
John Tomsich Assistant Athletic Director for The Penguin Club (330) 941-3801 jdtomsich@ysu.edu
Jim Culcasi Penguin Club Treasurer (330) 941-3720 jdculcasi@aol.com
Dave Hinkle Athletics Business Manager (330) 941-3717 dshinkle@ysu.edu
Connie Eddy Assistant Business Manager (330) 941-3718 ceddy@ysu.edu
Steve Pinciaro Coordinator of Athletic Business and Facilities (330) 941-2385 swpinciaro@ysu.edu
Mary Arroyo Business Office Assistant (330) 941-1910 marroyo@ysu.edu
Nicole Kent-Strollo YSU Director of Student Outreach and Support (330) 941-4703 nkentstrollo@ysu.edu
Dr. Chet Cooper NCAA Faculty Athletics Representative (330) 941-1361 crcooper01@ysu.edu
Bruce Burge Athletics Marketing Consultant

Academic Advisors

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Marilyn O'Bruba Coordinator of Athletic Academic Advising (330) 941-1921 maobruba@ysu.edu
Marty Hyden Athletic Academic Advisor (330) 941-3766 mlhyden@ysu.edu
Rachel Froehlich Athletic Academic Advisor rafroehlich@ysu.edu

Athletic Training

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Ethan Solger Head Athletic Trainer (330) 941-3190 easolger@ysu.edu
Jenna Lesko Assistant Athletic Trainer (330) 941-3190 jmlesko@ysu.edu
Todd Burkey Assistant Athletic Trainer (330) 941-3190 teburkey@ysu.edu
Jeff Wills Assistant Athletic Trainer (330) 941-3190 jcwills01@ysu.edu
Sarah Sydor Assistant Athletic Trainer (330) 941-3190 ssydor@ysu.edu
Julia Slepko Assistant Athletic Trainer (330) 941-3190 jmslepko@ysu.edu

Equipment

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Alvy Armstrong Head Equipment Manager (330) 941-3725 adarmstrong@ysu.edu
Tim Gallo Assistant Equipment Manager (330) 941-3725 tjgallo@ysu.edu

Facilities

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Tim Stuart Assistant Athletic Director (330) 941-2887 testuart@ysu.edu
Matt Rollins Coordinator of Athletic Facilities and Programs (330) 941-3671 mcrollins@ysu.edu

Spirit Squad

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Michelle Markota Spirit Squad & Mascot Advisor markota00@att.net
Jenna Schneider Spirit Squad & Mascot Advisor jsstacy10@gmail.com

Athletics Communications

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Trevor Parks Director of Athletics Communications (330) 941-3192 tparks@ysu.edu
Jamie Hall Assistant Director of Athletics Communications (330) 941-1581 jehall@ysu.edu
John Vogel Assistant Director of Athletics Communications (330) 941-1480 javogel@ysu.edu
Kevin Davis Video Production Specialist kmdavis@ysu.edu
Drae Smith Graduate Assistant Athletics Communications dmsmith06@student.ysu.edu

Strength & Conditioning

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Mark Brandenstein Football Strength & Conditioning Coordinator mabrandenstein@ysu.edu
Brian Sklenar Assistant Strength & Conditioning Coordinator bjsklenar@ysu.edu
Austin Kaigler Assistant Strength & Conditioning Coach bakaigler@ysu.edu
Jake Tuura Assistant Strength & Conditioning Coach jetuura@ysu.edu

Ticket Office

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Eric McLellan Manager of Athletic Ticket Operations (330) 941-7466 emmclellan@ysu.edu
Sheryl Schuff Manager of Athletic Ticket Operations (330) 941-3482 smschuff@ysu.edu

Baseball

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Dan Bertolini Head Baseball Coach dabertolini@ysu.edu
Josh Merrigan Assistant Baseball Coach / Pitching jjmerrigan@ysu.edu
Eric Smith Assistant Baseball Coach / Recruiting Coordinator emsmith08@ysu.edu
Ryan Krokos Volunteer Assistant Baseball Coach / Camp Coordinator krokosryan@gmail.com
Amy Raabe Sports Nutritionist asraabe@ysu.edu

Men's Basketball

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Jerrod Calhoun Head Men's Basketball Coach (330) 941-3004
Bobby Steinburg Associate Head Men's Basketball Coach (330) 941-3004 rcsteinburg@ysu.edu
Paul Molinari Assistant Men's Basketball Coach (330) 941-3004 jpmolinari@ysu.edu
Jason Slay Assistant Men's Basketball Coach (330) 941-3004 jwslay@ysu.edu
Kevin Bruinsma Director of Men's Basketball Player Personnel (330) 941-3004 kwbruinsma@ysu.edu
Mark Richmond Director of Men's Basketball Operations (330) 941-3712 marichmond@ysu.edu
Danny Reese Assistant to the Head Men's Basketball Coach (330) 941-3004 dereese01@ysu.edu
Shammgod Wells Graduate Manager

Women's Basketball

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
John Barnes Head Women's Basketball Coach (330) 941-3004 jmbarnes@ysu.edu
Andy Crane Assistant Women's Basketball Coach (330) 941-3004 acrane@ysu.edu
John Nicolais Assistant Women's Basketball Coach (330) 941-3004 jnicolais@ysu.edu
Courtney Davidson Assistant Women's Basketball Coach (330) 941-3004 cldavidson@ysu.edu
Nicole Griffin Director of Women's Basketball Operations (330) 941-3004 ngriffin01@ysu.edu
Jenn Lawrence Video Coordinator and Operations Assistant (330) 941-3004 jklawrence@ysu.edu

Women's Bowling

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Chelsea Gilliam Head Women's Bowling Coach cegilliam@ysu.edu

Cross Country

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Brian Gorby Head Cross Country Coach bdgorby@ysu.edu
Nicole Kent-Strollo Assistant Track & Field/Cross Country Coach nkentstrollo@ysu.edu
Eric Rupe Volunteer Assistant Track & Field/Cross Country Coach
Ashley Smith Volunteer Assistant Track & Field/Cross Country Coach amsmith14@student.ysu.edu

Football

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Bo Pelini Head Football Coach
Shane Montgomery Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks Coach smontgomery@ysu.edu
Carl Pelini Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers capelini@ysu.edu
Ron Stoops, Jr. Special Teams Coordinator rwstoops@ysu.edu
Carmen Bricillo Offensive Line Coach cjbricillo@ysu.edu
Brian Crist Wide Receivers Coach bdcrist@ysu.edu
Nic McKissic-Luke Running Backs Coach ndmckissicluke@ysu.edu
Richard McNutt Defensive Backs Coach/Recruiting Coordinator rkmcnutt@ysu.edu
Donald D'Alesio Defensive Line Coach dmdalesio@ysu.edu
Joe Ganz Tight Ends Coach jjganz@ysu.edu
Tim Marlowe Assistant Secondary Coach tcmarlowe@ysu.edu
John Murphy Director of Football Operations jtmurphy03@ysu.edu
Rollen Smith Assistant Director of Football Operations rtsmith03@ysu.edu
Mark Brandenstein Football Strength & Conditioning Coordinator mabrandenstein@ysu.edu
Mark Preto Football Video Coordinator mapreto@ysu.edu
Seth Antram Volunteer Offensive Assistant
Chris Marsco Undergraduate Assistant Football Coach
Nico Mancuso

Men's Golf

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Tony Joy Head Men's Golf Coach tjoy@ysu.edu
Josh Zarlenga Assistant Men's Golf Coach jzarlenga@hbkcpa.com

Women's Golf

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Nate Miklos Head Women's Golf Coach (724) 979-1192 nmiklos@ysu.edu
Emily Dixon Assistant Women's Golf Coach ejdixon@student.ysu.edu

Soccer

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Brian Shrum Head Coach
Tara O'Brien Assistant Soccer Coach

Softball

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Brian Campbell Head Softball Coach bcampbell@ysu.edu
Sara Zilles Assistant Softball Coach smzilles@ysu.edu
Erika Warren Assistant Softball Coach
Miranda Castiglione Volunteer Assistant Coach

Swimming & Diving

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Ryan Purdy Head Swimming & Diving Coach rspurdy@ysu.edu
Kate Johnson Assistant Swimming & Diving Coach kljohnson12@ysu.edu
Jaqueline Stanko Diving Coach jesmith05@ysu.edu

Tennis

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Mickael Sopel Head Men's and Women's Tennis Coach msopel@ysu.edu
Silviu Mistreanu Graduate Assistant Tennis Coach dmistreanu@student.ysu.edu

Track & Field

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Brian Gorby Head Track & Field/Cross Country Coach bdgorby@ysu.edu
David Townsend Assistant Track & Field Coach (Sprints) dtown23253@aol.com
Katrina Brumfield Assistant Track & Field Coach (Jumps/Multis) kbrumfield@ysu.edu
Nicole Kent-Strollo Assistant Track & Field/Cross Country Coach nkentstrollo@ysu.edu
Rick Penniman Assistant Track & Field Coach (Pole Vault) rdpenniman@ysu.edu
Conner Neu Assistant Track and Field Coach (Throws) cpneu@ysu.edu
John Seaver Assistant Track and Field Coach (Throws) jsseaver@ysu.edu
Eric Rupe Volunteer Assistant Track & Field/Cross Country Coach
Ashley Smith Volunteer Assistant Track & Field/Cross Country Coach amsmith14@student.ysu.edu

Volleyball

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Jessie Gerig Graduate Assistant Volleyball Coach jlgerig@student.ysu.edu